Loyola College (Autonomous)

Chennai - 600 034.

One day National Seminar on Protest Writings

A one day National Seminar on Protest Writings was organized by the Department of English, Loyola College (Autonomous), Chennai on 21st January 2019. The Chairman of the Seminar was Dr. K. S. Antonysamy, Head, Department of English, Loyola College (Autonomous), Chennai. The Conveners were Dr. I. Felicita Mary Praba and Dr. N. Preethi Shanthi, Assistant Professors, Department of English, Loyola College (Autonomous), Chennai.

The seminar began with a Worship Song by the II. M.A. English students. Dr. I. Felicita Mary Praba welcomed the gathering. Dr. S. Krishnan Unni, the Chief Guest Department of English, Deshbandu College, New Delhi was honoured by Dr. K. S. Antonysamy. The Prefatory remarks were given by Dr. K. S. Antonysamy, Head, Department of English. It was followed by the release of the *Literary Endeavour*, UGC Approved Quarterly International Refereed Journal of English Language, Literature and Criticism, UGC Approved Under Arts and Humanities Journal No: 44728, Vol: X Special Issue No: 3, January 2019 which contained the research papers sent by the delegates of the seminar. The first copy was released by Dr. S. Krishnan Unni and it was received by Dr. K. S. Antonysamy. Prof. Stephen Heldt introduced Dr. S. Krishnan Unni who subsequently delivered the Inaugural Address on "Exegesis of Voice and Deep Wounds: Dialectics of Contemporary Protest Writings." Dr. N. Preethi Shanthi proposed the Vote of Thanks for the inaugural session. The programme was anchored by Ms. Tisha Varghese, II M.A. English Literature student.

The Keynote speaker for the first session was Dr. S. Armstrong, Head, Department of English, University of Madras, Chennai who delivered the Keynote Address on the topic, "Forms of Protest Writings: A Global Perspective." and Dr. A. Amala Arockia Raj welcomed and introduced him. The Vote of Thanks for this session was proposed by Prof. D. Christina Sagaya Mary. The Master of the Ceremony was Ms. Niviya Chanchez, II M. A. English Literature student.

The delegates were divided into three groups and they presented their papers in the Lawrence Sundaram Auditorium, M.R.F. Hall and the Smart Room of the Advanced Zoology and Biotechnology. The Moderators were Dr. Claramma Jose, Dr. M. Lazer Selvaraj and Prof. I. Joseph Antony Jeyadoss.

Prof. S. Ashwin Parameshwar welcomed the delegates at Lawrence Sundaram Auditorium and honoured Dr. Claramma Jose. The delegates presented their papers and the Vote of Thanks was proposed by Prof. Bemi. The Master of the Ceremony was Ms. Agnel Nellissery Poulose of II M.A. English. The delegates at M. R. F. Hall were welcomed by Prof. Kirubakaran Amal Raj. He honoured Dr. M. Lazer Selvaraj. The delegates presented their papers and the Vote of Thanks was proposed by Prof. T. John Knox. The Master of the Ceremony was Ms. Samantha Geraldine of II. M. A. English. The delegates at the Smart room of the Advanced Zoology and Biotechnology were welcomed by Prof. Antoine Dominic Gnanasudhan. He honoured Prof. I. Joseph Antony Jeyadoss. The delegates presented their papers and the Vote of Thanks was proposed by Prof. Leo Joseph. The Master of the Ceremony was Ms. Infanta Sandhya of II. M. A. English.

During the afternoon session held at Lawrence Sundaram Auditorium, Dr. Joseph Christudoss, Head, Department of Mass Communication, St. Mary's College, Yousufguda, Hyderabad, Telengana presented his paper on the topic "Impact of Gaddar: His Songs of Protest, Awakening and Empowerment." He was welcomed and honoured by Prof. I. Joseph Antony Jeyadoss and the Vote of Thanks was proposed by Dr. Supriya Sam.

Prof. A. Sharmila Rani welcomed the gathering for the valedictory session. Dr. Fatima Vasanth, Deputy Principal, who was honoured by Dr. Asai Thambi, Co-ordinator, Department of English (Shift II) delivered the Valedictory Address. Certificates of Participation and Paper Presentation were distributed to the delegates by Dr. Fatima Vasanth and Dr. S. Krishnan Unni, Department of English, Deshbandhu College, New Delhi. Prof. Ranjith Kumar proposed the Vote of Thanks.
