Loyola College (Autonomous) Chennai - 600034

Department of History

Inauguration of History Association (2016-2017)

The inauguration of History Association for the academic year 2016-2017 was held on 15th July, 2016 at the Lawrence Sundaram Auditorium, Loyola College. The inauguration was graced by Rev. Dr. M. Arockiasamy Xavier S.J., Principal, Loyola College and Dr. P. Manohar, Head and Associate Professor, Department of History, Presidency College, Chennai who was also the Chief Guest.



Innvocation

The programme began with an invocation. Dr.L.Selvanathan, Head of the Department, gave the welcome address. Rev. Fr. Principal felicitated the gathering by drawing valuable references from the *Thirukural* to motivate the students. He was pride of the fact that he is a part of History Department. He advised the students to grow in reputation and influence the policy makers of the country.



Rev. Dr. M. Arockiasamy Xavier S.J., Principal, Loyola College addresses the staff and students

He also wished the department the best for a successful conduct of Loyola Forum for Historical Research (LFHR) to be held during July 21 -22, 2016. He interacted with the French students' who are part of the exchange programme. In addition he said that he looks forward to quality activities from the association.



Mr. L. S. Hareesh, II M.A student introducing Chief Guest

Mr. L. S. Hareesh, II M.A History introduced the chief guest. Dr. P. Manohar, Chief Guest, is a veteran who has spent nearly 30 years in the field of teaching. He was felicitated by History Association.



Dr. P. Manohar, Chief Guest, addresses

In his address, Dr. P. Manohar spoke at length about varied aspects of Historical Studies and its scope. He pointed out the bond shared between St. Joseph College, Trichy and Loyola College. He expressed his happiness over the association activities planned throughout the year.



Ms. Chandrakala, I M.A. History was the Master of Ceremony for the program.



Dr. I. Princes, Vice-President of the association introduced the office-bearers and the chief guest inducted them with their official tags



Mr.Atitya Ragul, III B.A. History, Secretary of the Association proposed the vote of thanks.



