Inauguration of History Association (2017-18)

The History Association for the academic year 2017-18 was inaugurated on 22nd August 2017 in Lawrence Sundaram Hall, Loyola College. Dr. Vasanthi Vijayakumar, Head and Associate Professor, Madras Christian College was the Chief Guest. All students and the faculty of the Department of History both the shifts I and II had gathered for the Inaugural function.

The programme began with the prayer song followed by the welcome address by Dr. L. Selvanathan, Head and Associate Professor, Department of History, Loyola College. Dr. A. Arputha Selvi, President, History Association (Shift-I) honoured the Chief Guest with a shawl and Dr. I. Yesubhakthan, Coordinator (Shift-II) presented a memento. Mr. M. Abishek Joseph III B.A., History, Secretary, History Association (Shift-I) introduced the Chief Guest and briefed the audience on her accomplishments.



Honouring the speaker

Dr.V.Yesubhakthan



Introducing the speaker

M. Abishek Joseph III B.A

Dr. Vasanthi Vijayakumar shared her memories and mentioned of the close bond she shared with the staff at Loyola College and quoted it was like a second home coming. She spoke on the importance of taking up history and also made a hint on the History Association being inaugurated on the same day as the birth of Madras. She also stressed the student gathering to find the purpose of their life and focused on it by setting themselves certain long-term goals and working sincerely towards it. Her thirty minutes speech was highly motivating. She has emphasized on life purposes as, starting point of life is a point towards finding on life purposes and we should have a long and short term goals, clarity in finding important and unimportant things, we should have a direction and meaning in life and we should have constant drive and passion. The above four purposes will lead you to achieve the success.



Speaker's Address

Dr. Arputha Selvi, President of the Association introduced Office Bearers of the History Association (Shift-I) and the Office Bearers of Shift-II were introduced by Dr. Louis Mushary, President, History Association (Shift-II).



Dr.A. Arputha Selvi

President, History Association (Shift I)



Dr.Louis Mushary

President, History Association (Shift II)

The Office Bearers were presented with their badges by the Chief Guest.



M.Abishek Joseph (Secretary) (Shift I)



B.Stalin Kumar (Sports Secretary)
Athletes (Shift I)



K.Nagapandi (Sports Secretary) Games (Shift I)



A.Daniyal Agarwanan (Cultural Secretary) (Shift I)



Deepan Raj (Joint Secretary) (Shift I)



Kannu VIgneshwar (Secretary) (Shift II)



Balamurugan (Sports Secretary)



Kalainesan (Cultural Secretary)



Jeyaganesh (Joint Secretary)

(Shift II) (Shift II)

Mr.Kannu Vigneshwar II M.A, Applied History, Secretary, History Association (Shift-II) proposed the vote of thanks. The Inaugural function ended with the College Anthem.





Gathering

Vote of Thanks, Mr.Kannu Vigneshwar II M.A

The Masters of ceremony were Mr. George Varghese, II B.A History and Ms. Divya, II M.A Applied History gave an enthusiastic comprising and also gave good comments.



Ms. Divya, II M.A Applied History
Shift II



Mr. George Varghese, II B.A History
Shift I

.....