Loyola College (Autonomous)

Chennai - 600 034.

Department of Physical Education

Bertram Tennis Tournament 2016

Results - 29th August 2016

Ramakrishnan defeats Gokul, lifts Stanley Cup:

Second seeded Ramakrishnan Rangaraj of Loyola College overcame top seed Gokul Suresh, also of Loyola College, in a gripping final, eventually emerging the winner in three sets, 6-2 4-6 6-1 to lift the Stanley Cup for the year 2016.

In the doubles category, the top seeded pair of Ramakrishnan Rangaraj and Gokul Suresh of Loyola College faced little resistance from the third seeded pair of Jeevan Velu and Samyukth Balaji, also of Loyola College, winning 6-0 6-1 in the final to lift the Erskine Cup.

RESULTS -SINGLES

1. Ramakrishnan Rangaraj (Loyola) beat Gokul Suresh (Loyola) 6-2 4-6 6-1

DOUBLES:

1. Ramakrishnan Rangaraj/Gokul Suresh (Loyola) beat Samyukth Balaji/Jeevan Velu (Loyola) 6-0 6-1



Loyola College (Autonomous) Chennai – 600 034

Bertram Tennis Tournament 2016

Results - 22nd August 2016

Theyjo outlasts Aksha:-

In a match which lasted for nearly 1 and a $\frac{3}{4}$ hours, J Oges Theyjo of Leo Matriculation School overcame Lohith Aksha B of DON BOSCO { 9-8 (8) }.

Qualifying Round Results:-

- 1. Lohith Aksha B (Don Bosco) beat Vivek John Sudhakar (St. John's) 7-1
- 2. Ashwin C (Montfort) beat Surya Prakash (CKNC) 5-0 (Rtd.)
- 3. M. Hariharan (Montfort) beat Rudhresh (Pondy) 7-0
- 4. Sharaniyan (Anna Gem Science Park) beat Paul Klusener (NIOS) 7-4
- 5. Anirudh Kumar (DAV) beat Raagava Pradhan (Velammal) 7-0

Main Draw Results:-

- 1. Samyukth Balaji (Loyola) beat Sharaniyan (Anna Gem Science Park) 9-0
- 2. Jeevan Velu (Loyola) beat C. Ashwin (Montfort) 9-4
- 3. Vimal Raj Jayachandran (DG Vaishnav) beat Harshavardhan Dinakaran (Velammal) 9-4
- 4. Anirudh Kumar (DAV) beat Sai Siddharth Nandakumar (Velammal) 9-3
- 5. Guhan Rajan (Loyola) beat Yeshwanth Raghav AVS (Montfort) 9-3
- 6. Mohd Minna (LICET) W/O Gautam Anand (Loyola)
- 7. S. Sriram (Loyola) beat V. Rohit (DG Vaishnav) 9-7

Note: (24th August 2016 - Matches)

Table Tennis Singles first round begins at 10.0 am

Tennis Singles second round begins at 6.30 am

Results for the 84th Bertram Memorial Trophy for Table Tennis (School)

Top U-18 paddlers in the state have entered the semi finals of the prestigious 84th Bertram Memorial Table Tennis tournament for Schools held at Loyola College, Chennai on the 23rd of august 2016.

Santosh Kumar of St. Joseph, the current junior champion managed a comfortable win over Juber Khan of Aloha Vidya Mandir. However A. Srikrishna of Bhavans beat J. Arun kumar of St Marys in a nail biting 5 setter in the quarter finals.

Sasi kumar of St. Joseph engaged Arjun K Raju of Bhavans in long rallies which led to another 5 setter in the quarter finals. Malesh Kumar of S.M.J.V seemed to have managed a comfortable win over Karan ASAN Memorial.

Results: Pre Quarter Finals:-

1. Santosh kumar (St Joseph) bt C. Rahul (Bhavans) 3-0 (11-9, 11-1, 11-8)

2. Juber Khan (Aloha Vidya Mandir) bt Thriambak (Nellai Nadar) 3-1 (5-11, 11-5, 11-9, 11-8),

3. J. Karan (Asan memorial) bt Kasi Vishwanath (Velammal) 3-0 (11-4, 11-3, 11-2),

4. Malesh Kumar (SMJV) bt S. Sashank (The School-KFI) 3-0 (11-8, 11-9, 11-8),

5. Arjun K Raju (Bhavans) bt T. Gokul (Brotherhood) 3-0 (11-5, 11-2, 11-7),

6. Sasikumar (St. Joseph) bt Rohith.V (St. Mary's) 3-0 (11-7, 14-12, 11-8),

7. J. Arun Kumar (St. Mary's) bt Adarsh (Velammal) 3-0 (11-4, 11-6, 11-8),

8. A.Srikrishna (Bhavans) bt Krishna (Hindu) 3-0 (11-7, 11-6, 11-7).

Quarter Finals:-

1. Santosh Kumar (St Josephs) bt Juber Khan (Aloha Vidya Mandir) 3-1 (11-8, 6-11, 11-4, 11-8),

2. Malesh Kumar (SMJV) bt Karan (ASAN Memorial) 3-0 (11-7, 11-1, 11-8),

3. Arjun K Raju (Bhavans) bt Sasikumar (St Joseph's) 3-2 (11-7, 11-7, 9-11, 6-11, 11-8),

4. A. Srikrishna (Bhavans) bt J. Arun Kumar (St Mary's) 3-2 (10-12, 11-9, 8-11, 11-8, 11-5)

Bertram Tennis Tournament 2016

Results - 23rd August 2016

Oges shocks Deepak:-

Oges Theyjo, of Leo Matric School, scored a shock upset victory over State-mate and third seed Deepak Senthil Kumar of Sri Sankara School, winning 9-5.

Other results (Pre-Quarter Finals):-

1. Gokul Suresh (Loyola) beat Abrar Rameez Samad (LICET) 9-2

2. Kavin Masilamani (LICET) beat M Hariharan (Montfort) 9-5

3. Samyukth Balaji (Loyola) beat Sriram Sankararaman (Loyola) 9-3

4. Vimal Raj Jayachandran (DG Vaishnav) beat Mohammed Minna (LICET) 9-2

Second round results:-

1. Rengaraj Ramakrishnan (Loyola) beat Sarvesh Kumar R (Loyola) 9-0

2. Abrar Rameez Samad (LICET) W/O Shiva Anirudha M

- 3. Vivekanand Velmurugan (Velammal) W/O Yeswanth Loganathan (St. John's)
- 4. Preeth Kumar R (RMK Vivekananda) W/O Arnold Inigo (Velammal)
- 5. Kavin Masilamani (LICET) beat Mohemmed Manaz (DG Vaishnav) 9-8 (3)
- 6. M Hariharan (Montfort) W/O Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (Loyola)

Note: (24th August 2016 - Matches)

Table tennis singles for college men begins at 8.30 am

Tennis singles remaining pre Quarter finals starts at 6.30 am